John J. Duffy Memorial Achievement Award

Named for our first President, John J. Duffy of Davenport, Iowa, founder of Per Mar Security Services, the "Duffy" is the Council’s highest honor. The award is presented every other year to an NCISS regular member, “who by their specific deeds and accomplishments has exhibited the highest standards of conduct and service to the private investigation and security service industries.” 

In alternate years the “Duffy” is awarded to a person or entity outside the regular membership, who for their specific service, heroism or other exemplary deed is being honored by the Council. 

2019 John J. Duffy Memorial Achievement Award Recipient

John Talaganis, presented by Maria Landry

John Talaganis has been a member of NCISS since 1984, is a Past President (1999-2000) and is currently the
longest serving voting Board member. He has served on several committees, including Chair of the Bylaws
Committee for nearly a decade, and Parliamentarian. In 2010 he was presented the NCISS Wayne J. Wunder
Memorial Award. He is also one of two NCISS Past Presidents to have also served as their state association
president - the California Association of Licensed Investigators (CALI), and an international association - the
World Association of Detectives (WAD).

Past Recipients of The John J. Duffy Memorial Achievement Award 

(2019) John Talaganis - Long Beach, California, past president of NCISS and Parliamentarian
(2018) Agents David Bailey and Crystal Griner - Washington DC Capitol Police
(2017) Dean A. Beers – Greeley, Colorado, past president of NCISS
(2016) Robert Perry - Robert H. Perry & Associates, Inc. of Greensboro, NC.
(2014) Francie Koehler - Oakland, Califnornia, past president and Legislative Committee Chair - Investigations
(2013) Maria Vinson Landry - Lacombe, LA, past president of NCISS
(2012) The Molly Bish Foundation
(2011) Roy C. Bucklin - Wheeling, Illinois, past president of NCISS and webmaster
(2010) Officer Joseph E. Cistaro, Command Sergeant Major in the Illinois Army National Guard who has seen
Afghanistan combat and whose military awards include the Bronze Star. Officer Cistaro epitomizes our brave
men and women who serve and protect us at home and abroad.
(2009) Jim Carino Jr. - Executive Security Consultants, Gladwyne, PA, founder of Intellenet
(2008) Detective Thomas G. McHale, Jr. - Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Police Department
(2007) PI Magazine - Freehold New Jersey
(2006) Brian P. McGuinness - Coral Gables, Florida - past president of NCISS
(2005) U.S. Representative Pete Sessions, Dallas, Texas
(2004) Robert A. Heales, R.A. Heales & Associates, Ltd.
(2003) Bruce Brownyard, Brownyard Programs, Ltd.
(2002) Kenneth Romine - Columbus, Ohio, past president of NCISS
(2001) Lawrence Sabbath, Vice President of Sellery Associates, NCISS 'Lobbying firm in Washington D.C.
(2000) Michael Duffy - Davenport Iowa, past president of NCISS
(1999) Rick Massimei, Chairman of the Private Security Council of ASIS and Vice Chair of NASCO
(1998) Gary Kuty - Columbus, Ohio, past president of NCISS
(1997) Los Angeles Police Department, Threat Management Unit
(1996) Bruce Hulme - New York City, past president of NCISS
(1995) Harry Rakosky, vacationing security director who tackled and disarmed an attacker who was machine gunning the White House
(1994) Ralph Day - Jackson, Mississippi, past president of NCISS
(1993) Robert McCrie - New York, Editor of Security Letter
(1992) Vincent Ruffolo - Chicago, Illinois, past president of NCISS, perennial chair Security Companies Organized for Legislative Action (SCOLA)
(1991) Charles E. Dennis - Severna Park, Maryland, past president NCISS
(1990) William Salud, Editor, accepted for the magazine SECURITY
(1989) Eddy McClain - Fallbrook, California, past president of NCISS
(1988) Edward del Pino, off-duty security officer and hero of the Staten Island ferry massacre who disarmed a sword-wielding attacker
(1987) Bert Hinds - Cincinnati, Ohio, past president of NCISS
(1986) The International Association of Chiefs of Police, IACP
(1985) Joe Duncan - Nashville, Tennessee, NCISS first Chairperson